Chicken Pomodoro

7 Jan

20140107-184732.jpg

Happy New Year! I started this blog awhile ago to keep track of recipes and things I’ve cooked… And I haven’t done a great job at keeping up! I’m hoping to start this New Year on the right foot.

Here’s a recipe I just tried. I hope you enjoy!!!

Makes 2 servings
Total Time: about 30 minutes

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut in half and pounded into cutlets (I actually used thinly sliced chicken breasts as I had them on hand)
Salt and pepper
All-purpose flour
Nonstick Spray or butter
1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
1 small shallot; diced
2 Tbsp. Fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup chopped fresh tomato (I used mini San Marzano tomatoes and diced them)
Desired seasonings ( I used garlic powder, Italian seasonings, and some extra salt & pepper and seasoned the tomatoes before adding them to pan)
2 Tbsp. Heavy cream

Season cutlets with salt and pepper, then dredge in flour. Coat a sauté pan with nonstick spray or butter. Heat over medium-high heat.
Add diced shallot and chicken to pan and sauté cutlets on both sides until lightly brown. Transfer cutlets and shallots to a platter.
Add broth and lemon juice to pan. Return cutlets to pan and cook on each side for 1 minute. Transfer cutlets to a warm plate.
Stir tomato and cream into broth sauce. Heat through; pour over cutlets.

Recipe adapted from CuisineAtHome.com

Leave a Reply

