Vanilla Bean and Butterfinger Ice Cream, Philadelphia Style

21 Jul

Last weekend my husband and I went out for dinner and as a treat, we headed to our local DQ for dessert.  There are far to many choices there to choose from!  After spending a long time thinking about what I wanted to get, I decided to get a Chocolate Oreo Blizzard with Butterfinger!  Oh was it a good decision!  It was delicious.  Ever since then, I’ve been craving butterfingers!  So I knew when I made my first batch of Homemade Ice Cream this week, it would contain them.  I decided to go with a classic vanilla bean ice cream this time.  This is just as good as it was at DQ with chocolate ice cream. 

 
Ingredients:
2 cups of heavy cream
1 cup of whole milk
3/4 cup of sugar
Pinch of salt
1 vanilla bean, split in half lengthwise
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
5 oz. pack of butterfinger snack size, crushed (I bought a snack size pack, but you could also buy a few of the regular size candy bars)

Directions:
Pour 1 cup of heavy cream into a medium saucepan and add the sugar and salt.  Scrape the seeds from the vanilla bean into the saucepan.  Warm over medium heat, stirring, until the sugar is dissolved.

Remove from the heat and add the remaining cup of cream, milk, and vanilla extract.  Mix well.  Add the crushed butterfinger and mix.

Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator; I kept it in there for 4 hours.  When ready to churn, add the mixture to your ice cream maker.  The ice cream was in the ice cream maker for about 30-40 minutes.  Let mix until thickened to your liking.  I took it out when the ice cream was in more of a solid state.  Transfer to an airtight container and freeze for about 2 hours.

Recipe adapted from David Lebovitz Book:  “The Perfect Scoop – Vanilla Ice Cream, Philadelphia-Style”

2 Responses to “Vanilla Bean and Butterfinger Ice Cream, Philadelphia Style”

  1. Lauren July 26, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    That looks wonderful! I’m pretty much obsessed with Butterfingers. 🙂

    • Megan D. July 26, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      Thank you! I couldn’t agree with you more,lately I’ve been obsessed with butterfingers! I want to make my next ice cream batch with resees pieces!

Leave a Reply

