Skirt Steak with Spicy Green Salsa

21 Feb

Both my husband and I love spicy things!  He loves hot sauce and anything that has hot sauce on it while I love jalapenos!  While planning our dinner menu for this upcoming week, I wanted to incorporate some meals that were quick and easy to make yet had some kick to them.  I had some skirt steak on hand and when I found this recipe, I knew my DH would love it!  I paired this steak with some mashed potatoes and fresh vegetables.

Ingredients:
5 teaspoons chilli powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 1/2 teaspoons oregano
Coarse Salt and Pepper
1 1/2 pounds skirt steak or sirloin
2 teaspoons olive oil

Ingredients for Spicy Green Salsa:
1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
1/4 – 1/3 of a jalapeno pepper (depending on how spicy you want this to be)
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon red-wine vinegar
1/8 teaspoon coarse salt

Directions:

1.  In a small bowl, combine the chilli powder, cumin, oregano, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper.  Sprinkle the mixture over the steak; drizzle with olive oil.  Let stand, turning to coat evenly with oil halfway through for 30 minutes.

2.  Heat pan to medium high – high.  I used a cast iron pan and I melted some butter in there beforehand; approximately 3 tablespoons.  When the butter has fully melted and pan is hot enough, place the steak in pan.  Cook, turning once, until the meat has reached the desired doneness, 5-8 minutes for medium rare.

3.  Combine all the ingredients for the spicy green salsa with 1 tablespoon water in small bowl; I actually put this in a food processor to grind and chop it up more.  Once finished, place on top of cooked steak!

Enjoy!!!

Recipe adapted from “Everyday Food – From the Kitchens of Martha Stewart Living; Great Fast Food” Recipe – Skirt Steak with Spicy Green Salsa

Leave a Reply

