Roast Beef

12 Feb

I don’t eat much meat.  Growing up, I never liked it and still don’t.  I will eat chicken, but it has to be cooked a “certain” way… cutlet style is preferred!  Even though I don’t eat any red meat, I cook it all the time for my husband.  Steaks, Burgers, Meatloaf…you name it and I have probably cooked it.  One tricky aspect I always run into when cooking meat is, how long to cook it.  Yes I have the recipe and I have a therometer, but I’m always worried it’s going to be to cold in the center and not cooked enough.  The more red the better my husband says…he loves his meat medium rare! 
I had this meat cooked perfectly….then my husband informed me he wouldn’t be home from work on time….did I mention at this point, the meat was pretty close to being done?  So in a rush, I let the meat cook a few more minutes.  By this point, the meat just about ready to be served.  Knowing it might cook a bit more after I took it out, I removed it from the oven.  It looked great to a non-meat eater!  However, by the time my husband got home, it was cold.  So I placed it back in the oven for 10 minutes…and of course it began to cook more!  Luckily the center was still a bit rare..but the ends were not so much!  DH did enjoy this meal and said it was seasoned very well.  Next time I make it, I will ensure DH is home so he can eat it right away!

Ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds small red new potatoes (10 – 12) quartered
1 pound shallots (8 – 10) peeled and trimmed, halved lengthwise
2 tablespoons olive oil (more to Rub on Roast)
Salt and Pepper
Favorite Seasonings – I used some Italian Seasonings and Garlic Powder
 1 1/2 pounds eye-of-round beef roast

Directions:
1.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  In a large bowl, toss the potatoes and shallots with olive oil, salt, pepper, and any other seasonings you would like.
2.  Place the potatoes and shallots in a large baking dish.  Place the roast in the center.  Rub the roast with olive oil and sprinkle generously with salt, pepper, and some italian seasonings.
3.  Roast in oven until the center of the beef registers 130 degrees for medium rare, about 50-60 minutes.  Let the beef rest before slicing.

Recipe adapted from Great Fast Food – An Everyday Food Publication by Martha Stewart Living.   “Roast Beef with Shallots and New Potatoes”

Leave a Reply

