Salsa Salsa Salsa!!!

19 Dec

To me, there is nothing better than tortilla chips and salsa for a quick snack. In a perfect world, I’d eat the salsa from “On the Border” everyday! Their salsa is so flavorful, fresh, and the perfect consistency. Unfortunately I can’t go to On the Border everyday! As a backup, I always make sure I have a jar of salsa or some store made
pico de gallo on hand; they are great in a pinch! However, when I’m looking for salsa similar to my favorite Mexican chain restaurant, I make it! This is the real stuff! To me, this stuff screams On the Border! It’s spicy. It’s fresh. It’s good!

If you don’t like spicy things, I would recommend using 1 jalapeño first. After tasting salsa with 1st jalapeño, determine if you want more spice. If you want more spice, add second jalapeño! Get ready for the heat!
To keep the salsa freshest the longest I store in 2 large size mason jars. The presentation in itself is nice; but these salsa filled jars make lovely gifts as well! Just add a bag of your favorite tortilla chips and your friend will be delighted!

Ingredients:

2 fresh jalapeño peppers
5 cloves of garlic
6 Roma Tomatoes
1 28oz. Can of diced tomatoes; with liquid drained
1 tbsp. Cumin
1 small yellow onion
1 small red onion
1 tbsp. Kosher Salt
1/2 tsp. Ground cayenne pepper
1/2 cup fresh cilantro
Juice of 1 lime

Directions:

In food processor, combine the jalapeños and garlic. Process until finely chopped. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add all other ingredients to the food processor.

Pulse in very brief pulses until the vegetables have reached the consistency you desire. For this kind of salsa, I prefer for everything to be chopped and diced up very finely.

Adapted from:
http://annies-eats.com/2009/01/25/my-favorite-salsa-ever/

One Response to “Salsa Salsa Salsa!!!”

  1. innasinventions December 19, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    That looks delicious! I’m an ‘On The Border’ addict as well…

Leave a Reply

