Pasta with Sausage, Basil and Mustard

30 Nov

Recipe Repost:

On Sundays, DH and I like to enjoy a nice pasta meal! I will start off the morning by listening to the Italian House Party on the radio like my grandmother used to years ago! She would get up nice and early and begin cooking her dinner around 12pm. Sunday’s were always the days she would have an early dinner and I like to try and do the same! I wish she was here today to make some of her chicken cutlets and eggplant for me!

I came across this recipe on the food and wine website some time ago. Being a picky eater, its hard to find meals that I can make for both of us without having to prepare that much seperately. With the exception of the sausage, I prepared everything together.

It didnt come out as flavorful as I would have expected, but it was still very tasty and DH loved it! The recipe didnt call for any tomato sauce, but I like to enjoy my pasta with a nice sauce so I added some sauce and ricotta to it. If I made this again, I would probably saute some onions and garlic to give it the additional flavor.

Pasta with Sausage, Basil, and Mustard by Nigel Slater

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound penne or medium shells
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 8 hot Italian sausages, meat removed from casings and crumbled (about 1 1/2 pounds)
  • 3/4 cup dry white wine
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 3 tablespoons grainy mustard
  • Pinch of crushed red pepper
  • 1 cup thinly sliced basil

    Directions:

  • Cook the pasta in a large pot of boiling salted water until al dente; drain. Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a large, deep skillet. Add the sausage meat and brown over moderately high heat, about 5 minutes. Add the wine and simmer, scraping up the browned bits from the bottom, until reduced by half, about 5 minutes. Add the cream, mustard and crushed red pepper and simmer for 2 minutes. Remove the skillet from the heat, add the pasta and basil and toss to coat. Serve at once.
  • http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/pasta-with-sausage-basil-and-mustard

    Leave a Reply

